The pet (peeve) I never asked for

I think my biggest pet peeve (at least lately) might be people telling me how to live my life.

I have been unemployed for six months now (yes, I hate it), because I am acting as my mother’s caretaker for the time being. Nearly everyone I have spoken to in the past six months already knows this. And I think my unemployment makes people feel as though they can tell me what to do with my time.

Now, I understand some people are just trying to help, but these people have already given me their advice. I don’t need it again.

I realize this is making me sound like a horrible person, and I truly believe I am not a horrible person, but I can’t help but get annoyed. There have been so many people who continuously ask me what I want to do with my life, to which I have always answered nicely (even if I had already gave them the answer more than once before). And as soon as I tell people I want to be a writer, it seems as though they feel like they know everything there is to know about writing.

Excuse me, but if writing was that easy, why in the world aren’t they off writing their own books and articles and blog posts? EXACTLY. Writing is a lot harder than it seems, and I’m sure everyone on WordPress already knows that.

And don’t get me wrong, I still love to write…when I can actually get the words out on (virtual) paper. Anyway, that wasn’t the point.

These people tell me I need to start writing my novel now since I have all the time in the world! Of course, I don’t actually, because I’m taking care of my mother, which they know, but that doesn’t matter apparently. Then they tell me to take  up freelance writing. I have known about freelance writing since middle school. I don’t need more people telling me to do it when I’m already telling myself everyday that I need to get on the ball. And then people tell me I need just go out and get a job. As if it is so easy!

I feel as though I’ve been hearing about how hard it’ll be to get a job in writing since I was in middle school, maybe high school. Everyone used to tell me getting my bachelors in English wouldn’t be the best because I’d have a hard time finding a job. And now everyone has decided it must not be that easy so why in the world aren’t I out looking for a job?

Did I mention I’m taking care of my mother? Yes. Yes, I did. Several times.

I just don’t understand how so many people — family, friends, friend’s families — feel like they can tell me what to do with my life. I am a responsible, intelligent human being. I know what my options are. I know finding a job six months after getting a B.A. is harder. I know. So why doesn’t everyone else know I know even when I tell them so?

Leave a comment